Fedora 29

From Sugar Labs
Revision as of 15:47, 31 October 2018 by FGrose (talk | contribs) (Please use intrawiki links to enable 'What links here' wiki feature!!!)
Jump to: navigation, search

Fedora.jpg Fedora® version page: 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 |
Fedora and the Infinity design logo are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc.

Fedora_29_RC_1.2

INFO

https://newsroom.ibm.com/2018-10-28-IBM-To-Acquire-Red-Hat-Completely-Changing-The-Cloud-Landscape-And-Becoming-Worlds-1-Hybrid-Cloud-Provider
https://www.redhat.com/en/blog/red-hat-ibm-creating-leading-hybrid-cloud-provider
Released Oct 30 2017

Updated

Oct 30 2018

1-) install hexchat in soas

F29 hexchat.png

F29 hexchat 3.png

F29 hexchatconnected.png

2-) logon to soas irc app

  1. use another irc app (Hexchat) in workstation or Mate (see links below) to register your nickname
in mate or workstation terminal "dnf groupinstall sugar-desktop-environment" log into sugar at login
#Fedora for (Autojoin Channels)
use "set irc_connect_delay 15" for (connect commands) in Hexchat
  1. /msg NickServ REGISTER password youremail@example.com
  2. look at e-mail in workstation or mate desktop and reply
  3. start soas irc as registered user
  4. /join #pidora (pidora allows commands and name ((nick)) changes)
  5. /msg nickserv identify (your primary nick) (password)
  6. change nick to (your primary nick)
  7. /join #sugar
You should be allowed to talk

Alternate Method to logon to IRC in Sugar

Google_Code_In_2018/background

Important

tested Beta:
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/29/Spins
"Greetings. Per this fesco ticket: https://pagure.io/fesco/issue/1714 I have created the Fedora 28 spins/labs page: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/28/Spins All spin maintainers/owners/interested parties should test their spins and at least update this wiki page with beta/final testing. Spins that don't have at least one tester at Beta may be dropped and not shipped in Final, so PLEASE make sure at least someone tests. Spin maintainers are also encouraged to test their spin more often and make sure it's composing correctly every day for Branched f28 and rawhide. Thanks, kevin."

installation

https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Results:Fedora_29_RC_1.2_Installation
can be installed with
https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/stage/29_RC-1.2/Spins/x86_64/iso/Fedora-SoaS-Live-x86_64-29-1.2.iso
https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/stage/29_RC-1.2/Workstation/x86_64/iso/Fedora-Workstation-Live-x86_64-29-1.2.iso
https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/stage/29_RC-1.2/Spins/x86_64/iso/Fedora-MATE_Compiz-Live-x86_64-29-1.2.iso
https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/unofficial/releases/29/x86_64/
missed spins

COMMON BUG

Red Hat Bugzilla – Bug 1519042 soas starts in journal:

This can be confusing for users

"Fix by hitting f1 key"

To connect to wireless AP if present

"then f3 key

to get to main menu"
james Cameron:new users won't have much problem with it, and it has nothing to do with fedora, it is a gtk+ vs sugar toolkit problem at heart, also seen in debian and ubuntu.

Linux Distributions where sugar is available

Sugar_Creation_Kit#Linux_distributions_where_Sugar_is_available


Virtualbox

Fedora_28#Virtual_Box_for_linux
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Results:Fedora_29_RC_1.2_Installation

Tutorials

Older tutorials on how to use sugar-desktop
Sugar_Creation_Kit#Tutorials

Sugar on a Stick (f29)

Sugar_on_a_Stick

Install SOAS (under construction-older anaconda)

Fedora-29-Live-SoaS liveinst

  • The Fedora Sugar on a Stick Spin can be installed from a booted SoaS Live CD/USB.
    See Sugar on a Stick/Downloads for the current version.
  • This tutorial is set up for a 4 GB USB stick or VirtualBox 4 GB hard disk install.
  • liveinst (anaconda) requires 2012 MB memory as a minimum to start in Fedora 29.
  • You can also install to a regular hard disk. See Type of installation below.
  • Burn and Boot the CD, or load the .iso as described here, and boot the Live USB.

Name Screen

  • First Screen that appears when boot is done.
The Name and colors screens set the individual SSH ID for the user and only run once.
Tutorials
Screenshots
Introduction to the Sugar Interface
Connecting to the Internet
Chatting with the Chat Activity
Chatting with the IRC Activity
Copy with drag & drop
Send a file to a friend
Backup & restore Journal
Capturas de pantalla
Introducción a la interfaz de Azúcar
Conexión a Internet
Charlando con la Actividad Chat
Charlando con la Actividad IRC
Copia con un simple arrastrar y soltar
Installation
Install SoaS in VirtualBox
Install SoaS in VMware Player
Import a VirtualBox Appliance
Importar un aparato de VirtualBox
Install with liveinst
Instalar con liveinst
Install & use liveusb-creator
Netinstall Fedora with Sugar Desktop
Burn a CD.iso on a Mac
Videos
(Enter Name you want to use.)

2-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-name.png

Colors

  • Chose colors for your Sugar Learner avatarLearner.svg
Click on the avitar to change colors - repeat to change again.
Click (done) when you are happy with it.

3-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-color.png

Home view

  • Sugar starts at the Home view (F3).
The Terminal Activity is selected.

4-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-f3-Terminal.png

  • Click on [#_] Become root

5-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-become root.png

liveinst

  • Enter the command liveinst, which starts the Anaconda installer.

6-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-livinst.png

  • Language

7-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-language.png

Storage devices

  • Choose Basic Storage Devices
  • Click [Next]

8-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-Basic Storage Devices.png

  • Hostname selection

9-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-hostname.png

  • Time zone selection

10-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-timezone.png

Password

  • Enter it twice.

11-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-password.png

Type of installation

  1. USB stick: Create Custom Layout
    You MUST SELECT THIS OPTION.
  2. Hard disk: Select Use All Space and proceed to Copying to hard drive.
    Caution: This will delete everything on the chosen hard drive.
    Other drive configurations are possible if you have free space
    on your hard disk, but booting may be more complicated.
Click [Next]

12-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-custom layout.png

  • Select edit /sda, or the disk where you want to install Sugar.

13-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-Create partition.png

  • Create:
File System Type: BIOS Boot Size (MB): 2
Mount Point: / File System Type: ext4 Size (MB): 2500 (or space available)
File System Type: swap Size (MB): 500 for hard disk installation. (Swap is not recommended for USB flash drives.)
(Fedora 16 (and later) requires a BIOS boot partition in the default configuration.)
  • Click [OK]
  • [Next]

14-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst-partitions.png

Copying to hard drive

16-Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst -Copying live image to hard drive.png

Congratulations

  • Finished
  • [Reboot]

Screenshot-f16-sugar-liveinst -Congratulations.png

  • Shut down the computer.
  • Reboot from the USB device or hard drive.
  • On reboot, you will enter "firstboot" to register yourself and your Sugar Learner colors.
This is similar to the name and color screens when the Live CD/USB first booted.

Available Groups

Available Environment Groups:

  Fedora Custom Operating System (custom-environment)
  Minimal Install (minimal-environment)
  Fedora Server Edition (server-product-environment)
  Fedora Workstation (workstation-product-environment)
  Fedora Cloud Server (cloud-server-environment)
  KDE Plasma Workspaces (kde-desktop-environment)
  Xfce Desktop (xfce-desktop-environment)
  LXDE Desktop (lxde-desktop-environment)
  LXQt Desktop (lxqt-desktop-environment)
  MATE Desktop (mate-desktop-environment)
  Sugar Desktop Environment (sugar-desktop-environment)
  Development and Creative Workstation (developer-workstation-environment)
  Web Server (web-server-environment)
  Infrastructure Server (infrastructure-server-environment)
  Basic Desktop (basic-desktop-environment)
  Cinnamon Desktop (cinnamon-desktop-environment)

Available Groups:

  3D Printing (3d-printing)
  Administration Tools (admin-tools)
  Ansible node (ansible-node)
  Authoring and Publishing (authoring-and-publishing)
  Books and Guides (books)
  C Development Tools and Libraries (c-development)
  Cloud Infrastructure (cloud-infrastructure)
  Cloud Management Tools (cloud-management)
  Compiz (compiz)
  Container Management (container-management)
  D Development Tools and Libraries (d-development)
  Design Suite (design-suite)
  Development Tools (development-tools)
  Domain Membership (domain-client)
  Fedora Eclipse (eclipse)
  Editors (editors)
  Educational Software (education)
  Electronic Lab (electronic-lab)
  Engineering and Scientific (engineering-and-scientific)
  FreeIPA Server (freeipa-server)
  Games and Entertainment (games)
  Headless Management (headless-management)
  LibreOffice (libreoffice)
  MATE Applications (mate-applications)
  Medical Applications (medical)
  Milkymist (milkymist)
  Network Servers (network-server)
  Office/Productivity (office)
  Python Classroom (python-classroom)
  Python Science (python-science)
  Robotics (robotics-suite)
  RPM Development Tools (rpm-development-tools)
  Security Lab (security-lab)
  Sound and Video (sound-and-video)
  System Tools (system-tools)
  Text-based Internet (text-internet)
  Window Managers (window-managers)

group persistor md version: 0.6.0