Fedora 23

From Sugar Labs
Jump to: navigation, search

Fedora.jpg Fedora® version page: 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 (rawhide) |
Fedora and the Infinity design logo are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc.

fedora 23 Beta

09/18/2015 available on the 22nd
Declared GOLD in Go/NoGo meeting

Download

https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/stage/23_TC1/
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Results:Fedora_23_Beta_RC1_Installation#How_to_test
Use netinstall as a boot.iso


Links to latest builds

  • For latest Builds builds (and links to them) see:
https://apps.fedoraproject.org/releng-dash/
All
http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/tasks?start=0&state=all&view=flat&method=createLiveCD&order=-id
Alternate:
http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/tasks?owner=ausil&state=all&view=flat&method=createLiveCD&order=-id
http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/tasks?owner=pbrobinson&state=all&view=flat&method=createLiveCD&order=-id

Alternate to netinstall (bfo.iso)

  • 06/27/2015 lives only boot in EFI; so we need to have an alternate installer to test rawhide builds.
http://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/bfo/bfo.iso
starts in fedora server
Change source to:
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/mash/branched/x86_64/os/
  • For f23 branched
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/mash/rawhide/x86_64/os/
  • For rawhide

References

https://boot.fedoraproject.org/faq
https://boot.fedoraproject.org/download


Boot.iso

boot.iso is the same as a netinstall.iso
  • Daily Builds of boot.iso
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/mash/
  • For latest builds:
https://apps.fedoraproject.org/releng-dash/
https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/stage/23_Beta_RC1/
  • Alternative Download Site (koji builder - (Only use if releng-dash not available.)
http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/tasks?start=0&state=all&view=flat&method=createLiveCD&order=-id
Click on Name and then Click on the xxx.iso for download.

livemedia-creator

updated 06/19/2016
  • Newer method to create live cd.isos
https://jbwillia.wordpress.com/2014/10/29/how-to-build-updated-fedora-live-iso-for-yourself/
  • Older post
https://www.brianlane.com/creating-live-isos-with-livemedia-creator.html
  • Examples in f23 root terminal:

Install files

  • livemedia-creator and ksflatten are part of lorax
# dnf install lorax virt-install libvirt-daemon-config-network

Last metadata expiration check: 2:48:39 ago on Sun Jun 19 14:06:08 2016.
Package lorax-23.21-1.fc23.x86_64 is already installed, skipping.
Package libvirt-daemon-config-network-1.2.18.3-1.fc23.x86_64 is already installed, skipping.

--snip--

Downloading Packages:
virt-install-1.3.2-2.fc23.noarch.rpm                                                                                                              219 kB/s |  92 kB     00:00    

--snip--

Installed:
  virt-install.noarch 1.3.2-2.fc23                                                                                                                                                
systemctl restart libvirtd
  • Must be done first:
You must be in the same fedora version (f23) first.
setenforce 0

ksflatten

build works: 06/20/2016 tg
ksflatten
bash: ksflatten: command not found...
Install package 'pykickstart' to provide command 'ksflatten'? [N/y] y


  • Link:
https://pagure.io/fedora-kickstarts/tree/f23
<dgilmore> satellit: I suggest that you tell people to git clone the repo and not get each piece manually
Kickstarts need to flattened before use:
hit raw tab and save-page-as to a local directory (/home/(user)/Downloads/pagure/)
https://pagure.io/fedora-kickstarts/blob/f23/f/fedora-live-soas.ks
https://pagure.io/fedora-kickstarts/blob/f23/f/fedora-live-base.ks
https://pagure.io/fedora-kickstarts/blob/f23/f/fedora-live-minimization.ks
https://pagure.io/fedora-kickstarts/blob/f23/f/fedora-repo.ks
https://pagure.io/fedora-kickstarts/blob/f23/f/fedora-repo-not-rawhide.ks
https://pagure.io/fedora-kickstarts/blob/f23/f/fedora-repo-rawhide.ks
https://pagure.io/fedora-kickstarts/blob/f23/f/fedora-soas-packages.ks
  • switch root terminal to the local directory with the kickstart files (/home/(user)/Downloads/pagure/)
ksflatten -v, --config fedora-live-soas.ks -o flat-fedora-live-soas.ks --version F23
  • NOTE the following command does NOT work in f23 "only url and nfs install methods are supported"
this should be fixed later 06/20/2016
livemedia-creator --ks /home/(user)/Downloads/pagure/flat-fedora-live-soas.ks  --logfile /tmp/lmc-logs/livemedia-out.log --no-virt --resultdir /tmp/lmc --project Fedora-soas-Live --make-iso --volid Fedora-SoaS-flat-live --iso-only --iso-name Fedora-SoaS-flat-live.iso --releasever 23 --title Fedora-SoaS-flat-live --macboot

USE:

tested in Thinkpad T-400 with f23 installed
dnf install livecd-tools
livecd-creator \
--config=/home/(user)/Downloads/pagure/flat-fedora-live-soas.ks \
--fslabel=Soas-f23-Remix --cache=/var/cache/live --verbose

Make a remix

  • edit the bottom of the flat-fedora-live-soas.ks
that you produce with ksflatten (above)
in this section of the flattened.ks:

%packages

add a program (add name)
- delete a program ( put - in front)
put # in front of listed program to not install it
  • See this page for more details on remixes
https://wiki.sugarlabs.org/go/Build_Your_Own_Remix_with_Fedora:


Build takes a long time wait for completion
ends with:
..........clip........
..........clip........
2016-05-17 16:16:16,110: Disk Image install successful
2016-05-17 16:16:16,110: working dir is /var/tmp/lmc-work-rilyz2bm
2016-05-17 16:27:38,448: Rebuilding initrds
2016-05-17 16:27:38,448: dracut args = ['--xz', '--add', 'livenet dmsquash-live convertfs pollcdrom qemu qemu-net', '--omit', 'plymouth', '--no-hostonly', '--debug', '--no-early-microcode']
2016-05-17 16:27:38,449: rebuilding boot/initramfs-4.5.3-300.fc24.x86_64.img
2016-05-17 16:29:15,724: Building boot.iso
2016-05-17 16:29:15,784: running x86.tmpl
2016-05-17 16:29:48,959: Disk image erased
2016-05-17 16:29:49,377: SUMMARY
2016-05-17 16:29:49,377: -------
2016-05-17 16:29:49,377: Logs are in /tmp/lmc-logs
2016-05-17 16:29:49,377: Results are in /tmp/lmc

Retrieve finished live.iso

"Results are in /tmp/lmc"

  • start files application
  • click on Files system
open temp folder
open lmc folder
  • click on the .....iso you just built

copy to (mouse right click) Home with files application

  • Check that it is in Home

Clean Up

delete the instance in /tmp
delete the /tmp directory (cannot run new build unless this is done?)
[root@localhost lmc]# 
[root@localhost lmc]# cd ..
[root@localhost tmp]# rm -r lmc
rm: descend into directory 'lmc'? y
rm: remove regular file 'lmc/Fedora-LUCwks-20160524.iso'? y
rm: remove directory 'lmc'? y
[root@localhost tmp]#

f24 soas remix with liveusb-creator

added to koji-image-f24-build-14147415.ks

F24soasLUC.png

Developer Portal

Fedora Package Information search

SoaS f23

Not in f23 builds use livemedia-creator to build

Features

http://wiki.sugarlabs.org/go/0.106/Notes

Available environment groups

  • example command line
dnf groupinstall workstation-product-environment
sudo dnf group list -v
  • Available environment groups:
  Minimal Install (minimal-environment)
  Fedora Server (server-product-environment)
  Fedora Workstation (workstation-product-environment)
  Fedora Cloud Server (cloud-server-environment)
  KDE Plasma Workspaces (kde-desktop-environment)
  Xfce Desktop (xfce-desktop-environment)
  LXDE Desktop (lxde-desktop-environment)
  LXQt Desktop (lxqt-desktop-environment)
  Cinnamon Desktop (cinnamon-desktop-environment)
  MATE Desktop (mate-desktop-environment)
  Sugar Desktop Environment (sugar-desktop-environment)
  Development and Creative Workstation (developer-workstation-environment)
  Web Server (web-server-environment)
  Infrastructure Server (infrastructure-server-environment)
  Basic Desktop (basic-desktop-environment)
  • Available groups:
  Administration Tools (admin-tools)
  Audio Production (audio)
  Authoring and Publishing (authoring-and-publishing)
  Books and Guides (books)
  C Development Tools and Libraries (c-development)
  Cloud Infrastructure (cloud-infrastructure)
  Cloud Management Tools (cloud-management)
  Container Management (container-management)
  D Development Tools and Libraries (d-development)
  Design Suite (design-suite)
  Development Tools (development-tools)
  Domain Membership (domain-client)
  Fedora Eclipse (eclipse)
  Editors (editors)
  Educational Software (education)
  Electronic Lab (electronic-lab)
  Engineering and Scientific (engineering-and-scientific)
  FreeIPA Server (freeipa-server)
  Games and Entertainment (games)
  Headless Management (headless-management)
  LibreOffice (libreoffice)
  MATE Applications (mate-applications)
  MATE Compiz (mate-compiz)
  Medical Applications (medical)
  Milkymist (milkymist)
  Network Servers (network-server)
  Office/Productivity (office)
  Robotics (robotics-suite)
  RPM Development Tools (rpm-development-tools)
  Security Lab (security-lab)
  Sound and Video (sound-and-video)
  System Tools (system-tools)
  Text-based Internet (text-internet)
  3D Printing (3d-printing)
  Window Managers (window-managers)

DNF System Upgrade

update f23 to f24 Beta
  • worked for Soas f23 to f24
05/05/2016

https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/DNF_system_upgrade

yum vs dnf

http://dnf.readthedocs.org/en/latest/cli_vs_yum.html

  • Commands and information
Command line
  • Install and/or use yumex-dnf
For graphical dnf features

Discussion of f22 vs f23 Password Policy

https://lists.fedoraproject.org/pipermail/devel/2015-June/211778.html