Fedora 29

From Sugar Labs
Jump to: navigation, search

Fedora.jpg Fedora® version page: 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 |
Fedora and the Infinity design logo are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc.

Fedora_29_Branched_20181008.n.0_

Updated

Oct 9 2018

How to logon to soas irc app

  1. use another irc app (Hexchat) in workstation or Mate (see links below) to register your nickname
#Fedora for (Autojoin Channels)
use "set irc_connect_delay 15" for (connect commands) in Hexchat
  1. /msg NickServ REGISTER password youremail@example.com
  2. look at e-mail in workstation or mate desktop and reply
  3. start soas irc as registered user
  4. /join #fedora
  5. nickserve identify (your primary nick) (password)
You should be allowed to talk

Important

tested Beta:
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/29/Spins
"Greetings. Per this fesco ticket: https://pagure.io/fesco/issue/1714 I have created the Fedora 28 spins/labs page: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Releases/28/Spins All spin maintainers/owners/interested parties should test their spins and at least update this wiki page with beta/final testing. Spins that don't have at least one tester at Beta may be dropped and not shipped in Final, so PLEASE make sure at least someone tests. Spin maintainers are also encouraged to test their spin more often and make sure it's composing correctly every day for Branched f28 and rawhide. Thanks, kevin."

installation

https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Results:Fedora_29_Branched_20181008.n.0_Installation
can be installed with
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/compose/branched/Fedora-29-20181008.n.0/compose/Spins/x86_64/iso/Fedora-SoaS-Live-x86_64-29-20181008.n.0.iso
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/compose/branched/Fedora-29-20181008.n.0/compose/Workstation/x86_64/iso/Fedora-Workstation-Live-x86_64-29-20181008.n.0.iso
https://kojipkgs.fedoraproject.org/compose/branched/Fedora-29-20181008.n.0/compose/Spins/x86_64/iso/Fedora-MATE_Compiz-Live-x86_64-29-20181008.n.0.iso

COMMON BUG

Red Hat Bugzilla – Bug 1519042 soas starts in journal:

This can be confusing for users

"Fix by hitting f1 key then f3 key in sugar to get to main menu"

james Cameron:new users won't have much problem with it, and it has nothing to do with fedora, it is a gtk+ vs sugar toolkit problem at heart, also seen in debian and ubuntu.

Linux Distributions where sugar is available

https://wiki.sugarlabs.org/go/Sugar_Creation_Kit#Linux_distributions_where_Sugar_is_available


Virtualbox

https://wiki.sugarlabs.org/go/Fedora_28#Virtual_Box_for_linux
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Test_Results:Fedora_29_Rawhide_20180531.n.0_Installation#Default_boot_and_install_.28x86_64.29

Tutorials

Older tutorials on how to use sugar-desktop
https://wiki.sugarlabs.org/go/Sugar_Creation_Kit#Tutorials

Sugar on a Stick (f28)

https://wiki.sugarlabs.org/go/Sugar_on_a_Stick

Available Groups

Available Environment Groups:

  Fedora Custom Operating System (custom-environment)
  Minimal Install (minimal-environment)
  Fedora Server Edition (server-product-environment)
  Fedora Workstation (workstation-product-environment)
  Fedora Cloud Server (cloud-server-environment)
  KDE Plasma Workspaces (kde-desktop-environment)
  Xfce Desktop (xfce-desktop-environment)
  LXDE Desktop (lxde-desktop-environment)
  LXQt Desktop (lxqt-desktop-environment)
  MATE Desktop (mate-desktop-environment)
  Sugar Desktop Environment (sugar-desktop-environment)
  Development and Creative Workstation (developer-workstation-environment)
  Web Server (web-server-environment)
  Infrastructure Server (infrastructure-server-environment)
  Basic Desktop (basic-desktop-environment)

Available Groups:

  3D Printing (3d-printing)
  Administration Tools (admin-tools)
  Ansible node (ansible-node)
  Authoring and Publishing (authoring-and-publishing)
  Books and Guides (books)
  C Development Tools and Libraries (c-development)
  Cloud Infrastructure (cloud-infrastructure)
  Cloud Management Tools (cloud-management)
  Compiz (compiz)
  Container Management (container-management)
  D Development Tools and Libraries (d-development)
  Design Suite (design-suite)
  Development Tools (development-tools)
  Domain Membership (domain-client)
  Fedora Eclipse (eclipse)
  Editors (editors)
  Educational Software (education)
  Electronic Lab (electronic-lab)
  Engineering and Scientific (engineering-and-scientific)
  FreeIPA Server (freeipa-server)
  Games and Entertainment (games)
  Headless Management (headless-management)
  LibreOffice (libreoffice)
  MATE Applications (mate-applications)
  Medical Applications (medical)
  Milkymist (milkymist)
  Network Servers (network-server)
  Office/Productivity (office)
  Python Classroom (python-classroom)
  Python Science (python-science)
  Robotics (robotics-suite)
  RPM Development Tools (rpm-development-tools)
  Security Lab (security-lab)
  Sound and Video (sound-and-video)
  System Tools (system-tools)
  Text-based Internet (text-internet)
  Window Managers (window-managers)

group persistor md version: 0.6.0