Global education conference

From Sugar Labs
Jump to: navigation, search

Global Education Conference 15-19 November 2010

The 2010 Global Education Conference will be held November 15 - 19, 2010, online and free - I am wondering how much Sugar community support I could get if I proposed a Sugar session, It would mean that before the session attendees would need to download Sugar on a Stick, I think it would be good if we had community involved and able to help with running it in more than just English and helping people, anyone want to be involved?

I am thinking of proposing an open discussion, where people who have tried downloading Sugar on a Stick and using it give us feedback on their experience and can ask questions of the Sugar community. If people are having installation problems we divert them to IRC channel (maybe #sugar-newbies) for instant support, and keep the elluminate session focused on education benefits, suggestions, etc.

So far we have English and Hindi listed, thanks Manu for offering support for this session and bringing your experience with grade 6 and 7 in New Delhi Sugar on a Stick deployment.


ELLUMINATE SESSION ROOM (open one hour before session): https://sas.elluminate.com/d.jnlp?sid=gec2010&password=D.ADFE930D6A553757A0A2BC4C7412C9

TIME:

  • Auckland, NZ - 20:00 Thursday 18 September
  • Boston, US - 02:00 Thursday 18 September
  • London, UK - 07:00 Thursday 18 September
  • New Delhi, India - 12:30 Thursday 18 September

FORMAT: Open Discussion

LANGUAGE: English

SHORT DESCRIPTION: The award-winning Sugar Learning Platform promotes collaborative learning through Sugar Activities that encourage critical thinking, the heart of a quality education. Designed from the ground up especially for children, Sugar offers an alternative to traditional “office-desktop” software. This open discussion is an opportunity to ask questions about Sugar and how it is used, give feedback and make suggestions, and discuss the educational benefits in using Sugar as an educational tool in schools. During this session, volunteers in the Sugar community will be available to participate in the discussion and answer questions. Participants need to download Sugar on a Stick in advance and try it out in preparation for this open discussion.